Warning: include(/home/ibegin/www/incl/logindata.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/ibegin.com/public_html/kalamazoo/viewreviews.php on line 5 Warning: include(): Failed opening '/home/ibegin/www/incl/logindata.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear') in /home/ibegin.com/public_html/kalamazoo/viewreviews.php on line 5 Reviews and Ratings for Rave Motion Picture Theater Entertainment - iBegin Kalamazoo

Information

Official Website: click here
Date Updated: March 6, 2007
Address: 180 Portage Street, Kalamazoo
Phone: (269) 381-5732

Back to Rave Motion Picture Theater

Reviews & Ratings

Sort Reviews:

Xela Overall: July 18, 2009
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. I LOVE the rave!! First of all,i have one just 20 minutes away so i don't have to waste that much gas! second of all,the staff is kind and ready to help if you have any problems! though on days when new movies just came out the theater is packed,on any other day you don't have to wait that long. The pop corn is warm,fresh,and buttery and the drinks are cold and refreshing. When you walk in your theater,it is HUGE! there's plenty of room there! the seats are nice and cushy and they have a FABULOUS saound system! All in all i think the rave is a GREAT theater!!
I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

Universityprof

Reviews: 1Badges: 0This user has a UserRank of 1
Overall: January 10, 2008
7 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Lots of screens and the digital and audio quality is very good; however the prices for admission and concessions are much higher than other local theatres - it cost me $25 for me and my sons aged 11 & 13 for a matinee, not to mention costs for concessions! In comparison, local Goodrich theatre charges $3.00 for matinees, free refills on soda and 27 cents refill on popcorn, plus a frequent user punch card for future free concession. The Rave recently dropped their student special for concessions and most restaurant/movie combo deals.

While parking is nearby, you must walk outside a block to enter the theatre - not good in inclement weather. You must also remember to get parking ticket stamped for free parking. Opening week had a serious violent physical attack on a movie goer and deranged criminal in the adjacent parking ramp; however, no other such incidents have occurred since.

Seats are nice, but not better than other local theatres.

Summary - Over-priced, but good for taking a date with local bars nearby for other entertainment. There are better deals elsewhere close-by for families and people on a budget.

Pros - great video and sound and variety of screens. Comfortable seating. New interior.

Cons - high cost, especially for families. No incentive for frequent attendees. Limited student or restaurant/movie combo specials. Parking inconvenient with fee if you forget to get ticket stamped. Questionable safety of surrounding area. Often long waits in concession lines.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Profile photo for ebbtide

ebbtide

Reviews: 18Badges: 1This user has a UserRank of 2
Overall: October 11, 2007
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. I work hard, and when I go to the movies, I usually fall asleep at other theaters. Although the Rave has some of the most comfortable seats, and one of the cleanest theaters in Kalamazoo, I always enjoy my experience at this theater. And I always watch the entire movie. And the price isn't too outrageous neither. 4 stars
I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

leadsquirter

Reviews: 2Badges: 0This user has a UserRank of 1
Overall: September 24, 2007
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. I really like this theater. The place is huge and very colorful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was easy and free in the attached ramp, plus there are many free spots on nearby streets. Lots to do after the movie by visiting downtown resturants or just walking around.
I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
xgeistx Overall: April 2, 2007
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Great sound, great picture, great theater. The adjoined structure makes parking easy and free (with movie ticket). You can't beat the $5 student ticket price (popcorn and drink included). I would chose Rave over Kalamazoo 10 any day.
I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Tyler Overall: March 6, 2007
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. This is a very well designed and fun filled theater. Even the colors of the bathroom are extraordinary. The theater is huge! And parking has been easy and hassle free every time! We always use the parking structure on portage st just a few feet north of the Rave's main entrance, take the parking ticket to the ticket counter and have them punch it when you buy your tickets so that parking is FREE! There is an elevator that goes right down to the street, and it creates a very nice atmosphere before and after the movie. Highly recommend to everyone. Students are just $5 as of March 6, 2007, and you get free popcorn and soda with your student ID. Awesome!!!
I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

will

Reviews: 1Badges: 1This user has a UserRank of 1
Overall: December 30, 2006
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. The digital screens are amazing. The seats are very comfortable. The screens are larger, I think, than any others in Kalamazoo, and there are lots of them--14, I think. The staff is friendly, and they are working hard to make it a good place to come downtown to.
I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

congalie

Reviews: 310Badges: 5This user has a UserRank of 6
Overall: December 12, 2006
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Rave will definitely provide some competition for the other Kalamazoo theaters. It is quite fancy inside. . .they have plasma screens which display your conscession choices and future movies they will be offering.

I found the seats were very comfortable. The sound system was amazing in the theater. The one downside to Rave is the parking which can be a bit of a hassle.

For my money, I'd rather go to K10.

I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

Back to Rave Motion Picture Theater


Add Your Review


1 (poor)2345 (excellent)
Overall:

Would you recommend this place to a friend?
(Email is used for verification purposes only)

Your Review: